On this page

Vimpat

lacosamide · Tablet, Film Coated

Prescription NDA Schedule CV TE AB RLD Official labelling
Informational index, not medical advice. Content is reproduced from public FDA and NLM data. Always confirm against the manufacturer's current prescribing information. Report adverse events to FDA MedWatch.

Overview

Brand name
Vimpat
Generic name
lacosamide
Dosage form
Tablet, Film Coated
Route
Oral
Marketing category
NDA · NDA
Labeler
UCB, Inc.
Product type
Human Prescription Drug
DEA schedule
CV
Active ingredients
4
NDC product codes
4
Packages
12
Data completeness
76% of corroborating sources present

Active ingredients

Source: NDC Directory
Active ingredients and strengths as listed in the NDC Directory.
Ingredient Strength RxCUI Monograph
Lacosamide 100 mg/1 809974 View
Lacosamide 150 mg/1 809974 View
Lacosamide 200 mg/1 809974 View
Lacosamide 50 mg/1 809974 View

Forms, strengths and routes

Source: NDC Directory
Dosage form
Tablet, Film Coated
Route of administration
Oral
Presentations
16

Pharmacologic classes are listed in the class section below.

Pharmacologic class

Source: NDC Directory
Established pharmacologic classes (EPC), mechanisms of action (MoA), chemical structures (CS) and physiologic effects (PE).
Class Type Browse
Decreased Central Nervous System Disorganized Electrical Activity [PE] PE All 114 members

Regulatory status

Source: Drugs@FDANDC Directory
Application number
022253
Application type
NDA · New Drug Application
Approval date
October 28, 2008
Sponsor
UCB INC
Products on application
4
Submissions recorded
35
Products approved under application 022253.
Product Trade name Form Strength Ingredient Status TE Flags
022253-001 VIMPAT TABLET LACOSAMIDE Prescription AB RLD
022253-002 VIMPAT TABLET LACOSAMIDE Prescription AB RLD
022253-003 VIMPAT TABLET LACOSAMIDE Prescription AB RLD
022253-004 VIMPAT TABLET LACOSAMIDE Prescription AB RLD RS

Therapeutic equivalence

Source: Orange Book
TE code
AB
Reference Listed Drug
Yes
Reference Standard
Yes

What this rating means: Therapeutically equivalent — bioequivalence demonstrated by in vivo or in vitro testing

Codes beginning with “A” indicate products the FDA considers therapeutically equivalent. Codes beginning with “B” indicate bioequivalence has not been established. See methodology.

Patents and exclusivity

Source: Orange Book
Regulatory exclusivity periods.
Code Expires Product
D-188 April 28, 2026 001
D-188 April 28, 2026 002
D-188 April 28, 2026 003
D-188 April 28, 2026 004

Approval history

Source: Drugs@FDA
Most recent submissions on application 022253.
Type No. Action Status Date Review
Supplement 57 Labeling Approved October 16, 2023 Standard
Supplement 50 Efficacy Approved April 28, 2023 Standard
Supplement 55 Labeling Approved September 30, 2022 Standard
Supplement 54 Labeling Approved May 19, 2022 Standard
Supplement 49 Efficacy Approved October 14, 2021 Standard
Supplement 53 Manufacturing (CMC) Approved September 20, 2021 N/A
Supplement 51 Labeling Approved September 15, 2021 Standard
Supplement 48 Efficacy Approved November 16, 2020 Standard
Supplement 46 Efficacy Approved November 16, 2020 Standard
Supplement 45 Labeling Approved June 11, 2019 Standard
Supplement 41 Efficacy Approved January 9, 2019 Standard
Supplement 42 Labeling Approved November 11, 2018 Standard
Supplement 39 Efficacy Approved November 3, 2017 Standard
Supplement 37 Labeling Approved March 24, 2017 Standard
Supplement 35 Manufacturing (CMC) Approved January 6, 2017 Standard
Supplement 33 Manufacturing (CMC) Approved May 27, 2016 Standard
Supplement 32 Manufacturing (CMC) Approved May 5, 2016 Standard
Supplement 30 Labeling Approved July 9, 2015 Standard
Supplement 31 Manufacturing (CMC) Approved April 15, 2015 Standard
Supplement 27 Efficacy Approved August 29, 2014 Standard
Supplement 26 Efficacy Approved August 29, 2014 Standard
Supplement 28 Labeling Approved August 12, 2014 Standard
Supplement 29 Manufacturing (CMC) Approved June 4, 2014 Standard
Supplement 23 Labeling Approved January 16, 2014 Unknown
Supplement 25 Manufacturing (CMC) Approved October 11, 2013 Standard
Supplement 16 Labeling Approved September 25, 2013 Unknown
Supplement 14 Labeling Approved September 25, 2013 Standard
Supplement 24 Labeling Approved April 17, 2013 Standard
Supplement 10 Labeling Approved February 8, 2013 Standard
Supplement 21 Labeling Approved February 5, 2013 Standard
Supplement 22 Manufacturing (CMC) Approved December 3, 2012 Standard
Supplement 20 REMS Approved August 10, 2011 N/A
Supplement 6 Labeling Approved April 20, 2010 Unknown
Supplement 4 Labeling Approved November 18, 2009 Standard
Original application 1 Type 1 - New Molecular Entity Approved October 28, 2008 Standard

Review documents

  • 0 · Supplement · October 20, 2023
  • 0 · Supplement · October 20, 2023
  • 0 · Supplement · October 17, 2023
  • 0 · Supplement · May 1, 2023
  • 0 · Supplement · May 1, 2023
  • 0 · Supplement · October 3, 2022
  • 0 · Supplement · October 3, 2022
  • 0 · Supplement · May 20, 2022
  • 0 · Supplement · May 20, 2022
  • 0 · Supplement · October 19, 2021
  • 0 · Supplement · October 15, 2021
  • 0 · Supplement · September 20, 2021
  • 0 · Supplement · September 17, 2021
  • 0 · Supplement · November 17, 2020
  • 0 · Supplement · November 17, 2020
  • 0 · Supplement · November 16, 2020
  • 0 · Supplement · November 16, 2020
  • 0 · Supplement · June 12, 2019
  • 0 · Supplement · June 12, 2019
  • 0 · Supplement · February 13, 2019
  • 0 · Supplement · January 10, 2019
  • 0 · Supplement · December 7, 2018
  • 0 · Supplement · November 23, 2018
  • 0 · Supplement · November 7, 2017
  • 0 · Supplement · March 29, 2017
  • 0 · Supplement · March 27, 2017
  • 0 · Supplement · July 13, 2015
  • 0 · Supplement · July 13, 2015
  • 0 · Supplement · September 3, 2014
  • 0 · Supplement · September 3, 2014

Prescribing information

Source: openFDA Drug Labeling

Reproduced verbatim from the Structured Product Labeling submitted to the FDA (effective 20260512). This is the manufacturer's labelling text, not a summary and not advice.

HUMAN PRESCRIPTION DRUG · 20260512

Indications and Usage

openFDA Drug Labeling

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE VIMPAT is indicated for: Treatment of partial-onset seizures in patients 1 month of age and older ( 1.1 ) Adjunctive therapy in the treatment of primary generalized tonic-clonic seizures in patients 4 years of age and older ( 1.2 ) 1.1 Partial-Onset Seizures VIMPAT is indicated for the treatment of partial-onset seizures in patients 1 month of age and older. 1.2 Primary Generalized Tonic-Clonic Seizures VIMPAT is indicated as adjunctive therapy in the treatment of primary generalized tonic-clonic seizures in patients 4 years of age and older.

Dosage and Administration

openFDA Drug Labeling

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Adults (17 years and older): Initial dosage for monotherapy for the treatment of partial-onset seizures is 100 mg twice daily ( 2.1 ) Initial dosage for adjunctive therapy for the treatment of partial-onset seizures or primary generalized tonic-clonic seizures is 50 mg twice daily ( 2.1 ) Maximum recommended dosage for monotherapy and adjunctive therapy is 200 mg twice daily ( 2.1 ) Pediatric Patients 1 month to less than 17 years : The recommended dosage is based on body weight and is administered orally twice daily ( 2.1 ) Increase dosage based on clinical response and tolerability, no more frequently than once per week ( 2.1 ) Injection: for intravenous use only when oral administration is temporarily not feasible; the recommended dosage is based on body weight and is administered two or three times daily over 15 to 60 minutes; obtaining ECG before initiation is recommended in certain patients ( 2.7 , 5.3 ) Dose adjustment is recommended for severe renal impairment ( 2.4 , 12.3 ) Dose adjustment is recommended for mild or moderate hepatic impairment; use in patients with severe hepatic impairment is not recommended ( 2.5 , 12.3 ) 2.1 Dosage Information The recommended dosage for monotherapy and adjunctive therapy for partial-onset seizures in patients 1 month of age and older and for adjunctive therapy for primary generalized tonic-clonic seizures in patients 4 years of age and older is included in Table 1. In pediatric patients, the recommended dosing regimen is dependent upon body weight. Dosage should be increased based on clinical response and tolerability, no more frequently than once per week. Titration increments should not exceed those shown in Table 1. Table 1: Recommended Dosages for Partial-Onset Seizures (Monotherapy or Adjunctive Therapy) in Patients 1 Month and Older, and for Primary Generalized Tonic-Clonic Seizures (Adjunctive Therapy) in Patients 4 Years of Age and Older when not specified, the dosage is the same for monotherapy for partial-onset seizures and adjunctive therapy for partial-onset seizures or primary generalized tonic-clonic seizures. Oral and intravenous dosages are the same unless specified. Age and Body Weight Initial Dosage Titration Regimen Maintenance Dosage Adults (17 years and older) Monotherapy Monotherapy for partial-onset seizures only : 100 mg twice daily (200 mg per day) Adjunctive Therapy: 50 mg twice daily (100 mg per day) Increase by 50 mg twice daily (100 mg per day) every week Monotherapy : 150 mg to 200 mg twice daily (300 mg to 400 mg per day) Adjunctive Therapy: 100 mg to 200 mg twice daily (200 mg to 400 mg per day) Pediatric patients weighing at least 50 kg 50 mg twice daily (100 mg per day) Increase by 50 mg twice daily (100 mg per day) every week Monotherapy : 150 mg to 200 mg twice daily (300 mg to 400 mg per day) Adjunctive Therapy: 100 mg to 200 mg twice daily (200 mg to 400 mg per day) Pediatric patients weighing 30 kg to less than 50 kg 1 mg/kg twice daily (2 mg/kg/day) Increase by 1 mg/kg twice daily (2 mg/kg/day) every week 2 mg/kg to 4 mg/kg twice daily (4 mg/kg/day to 8 mg/kg/day) Pediatric patients weighing 11 kg to less than 30 kg 1 mg/kg twice daily (2 mg/kg/day) Increase by 1 mg/kg twice daily (2 mg/kg/day) every week 3 mg/kg to 6 mg/kg twice daily (6 mg/kg/day to 12 mg/kg/day) Pediatric patients weighing 6 kg to less than 11 kg indicated only for partial-onset seizures Pediatric patients weighing less than 6 kg Intravenous: 0.66 mg/kg three times daily (2 mg/kg/day) Intravenous: Increase by 0.66 mg/kg three times daily (2 mg/kg/day) every week Intravenous: 2.5 mg/kg to 5 mg/kg three times daily (7.5 mg/kg/day to 15 mg/kg/day) Oral: 1 mg/kg twice daily (2 mg/kg/day) Oral: Increase by 1 mg/kg twice daily (2 mg/kg/day) every week Oral: 3.75 mg/kg to 7.5 mg/kg twice daily (7.5 mg/kg/day to 15 mg/kg/day) In adjunctive clinical trials in adult patients with partial-onset seizures, a dosage higher than 200 mg twice daily (400 mg per …

Dosage Forms and Strengths

openFDA Drug Labeling

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS 50 mg, 100 mg, 150 mg, 200 mg tablets ( 3 ) 200 mg/20 mL single-dose vial for intravenous use ( 3 ) 10 mg/mL oral solution ( 3 ) VIMPAT Tablets 50 mg: pink, oval, film-coated, debossed with "SP" on one side and "50" on the other 100 mg: dark yellow, oval, film-coated, debossed with "SP" on one side and "100" on the other 150 mg: salmon, oval, film-coated, debossed with "SP" on one side and "150" on the other 200 mg: blue, oval, film-coated, debossed with "SP" on one side and "200" on the other VIMPAT Injection 200 mg/20 mL: clear, colorless sterile solution in single-dose vials VIMPAT Oral Solution 10 mg/mL: clear, colorless to yellow or yellow-brown, strawberry-flavored liquid

Contraindications

openFDA Drug Labeling

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS None . None ( 4 )

Warnings and Cautions

openFDA Drug Labeling

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Monitor patients for suicidal behavior and ideation ( 5.1 ) VIMPAT may cause dizziness and ataxia ( 5.2 ) Cardiac Rhythm and Conduction Abnormalities: Obtaining ECG before beginning and after titration to steady-state maintenance is recommended in patients with underlying proarrhythmic conditions or on concomitant medications that affect cardiac conduction; closely monitor these patients ( 5.3 , 7.2 ) VIMPAT may cause syncope ( 5.4 ) VIMPAT should be gradually withdrawn to minimize the potential of increased seizure frequency ( 5.5 ) Drug Reaction with Eosinophilia and Systemic Symptoms (DRESS)/ Multi-Organ Hypersensitivity: Discontinue if no alternate etiology ( 5.6 ) 5.1 Suicidal Behavior and Ideation Antiepileptic drugs (AEDs), including VIMPAT, increase the risk of suicidal thoughts or behavior in patients taking these drugs for any indication. Patients treated with any AED for any indication should be monitored for the emergence or worsening of depression, suicidal thoughts or behavior, and/or any unusual changes in mood or behavior. Pooled analyses of 199 placebo-controlled clinical trials (mono- and adjunctive therapy) of 11 different AEDs showed that patients randomized to one of the AEDs had approximately twice the risk (adjusted Relative Risk 1.8, 95% CI:1.2, 2.7) of suicidal thinking or behavior compared to patients randomized to placebo. In these trials, which had a median treatment duration of 12 weeks, the estimated incidence of suicidal behavior or ideation among 27,863 AED-treated patients was 0.43%, compared to 0.24% among 16,029 placebo-treated patients, representing an increase of approximately one case of suicidal thinking or behavior for every 530 patients treated.There were four suicides in drug-treated patients in the trials and none in placebo-treated patients, but the number of events is too small to allow any conclusion about drug effect on suicide. The increased risk of suicidal thoughts or behavior with AEDs was observed as early as one week after starting treatment with AEDs and persisted for the duration of treatment assessed. Because most trials included in the analysis did not extend beyond 24 weeks, the risk of suicidal thoughts or behavior beyond 24 weeks could not be assessed. The risk of suicidal thoughts or behavior was generally consistent among drugs in the data analyzed. The finding of increased risk with AEDs of varying mechanisms of action and across a range of indications suggests that the risk applies to all AEDs used for any indication. The risk did not vary substantially by age (5-100 years) in the clinical trials analyzed. Table 3 shows absolute and relative risk by indication for all evaluated AEDs. Table 3: Risk by Indication for Antiepileptic Drugs in the Pooled Analysis Indication Placebo Patients with Events Per 1000 Patients Drug Patients with Events Per 1000 Patients Relative Risk: Incidence of Events in Drug Patients/Incidence in Placebo Patients Risk Difference: Additional Drug Patients with Events Per 1000 Patients Epilepsy 1.0 3.4 3.5 2.4 Psychiatric 5.7 8.5 1.5 2.9 Other 1.0 1.8 1.9 0.9 Total 2.4 4.3 1.8 1.9 The relative risk for suicidal thoughts or behavior was higher in clinical trials for epilepsy than in clinical trials for psychiatric or other conditions, but the absolute risk differences were similar. Anyone considering prescribing VIMPAT or any other AED must balance this risk with the risk of untreated illness. Epilepsy and many other illnesses for which antiepileptics are prescribed are themselves associated with morbidity and mortality and an increased risk of suicidal thoughts and behavior. Should suicidal thoughts and behavior emerge during treatment, the prescriber needs to consider whether the emergence of these symptoms in any given patient may be related to the illness being treated. 5.2 Dizziness and Ataxia VIMPAT may cause dizziness and ataxia in adult and pediatric patients. In adult patients with partial-onset seizures ta …

Adverse Reactions

openFDA Drug Labeling

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following serious adverse reactions are described below and elsewhere in the labeling: Suicidal Behavior and Ideation [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ] Dizziness and Ataxia [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] Cardiac Rhythm and Conduction Abnormalities [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ] Syncope [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) ] Drug Reaction with Eosinophilia and Systemic Symptoms (DRESS)/Multiorgan Hypersensitivity Reactions [see Warnings and Precautions (5.6) ] Adjunctive therapy: Most common adverse reactions in adults (≥10% and greater than placebo) are diplopia, headache, dizziness, nausea, and somnolence ( 6.1 ) Monotherapy: Most common adverse reactions are similar to those seen in adjunctive therapy studies ( 6.1 ) Pediatric patients: Adverse reactions are similar to those seen in adult patients ( 6.1 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact UCB, Inc. at 1-844-599-2273 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch 6.1 Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect the rates observed in practice. VIMPAT Tablet and Oral Solution in Adults In the premarketing development of adjunctive therapy for partial-onset seizures, 1327 adult patients received VIMPAT tablets in controlled and uncontrolled trials, of whom 1000 were treated for longer than 6 months, and 852 for longer than 12 months. The monotherapy development program for partial-onset seizures included 425 adult patients, 310 of whom were treated for longer than 6 months, and 254 for longer than 12 months. Partial-Onset Seizures Monotherapy Historical-Control Trial (Study 1) In the monotherapy trial for partial-onset seizures, 16% of patients randomized to receive VIMPAT at the recommended doses of 300 and 400 mg/day discontinued from the trial as a result of an adverse reaction. The adverse reaction most commonly (≥1% on VIMPAT) leading to discontinuation was dizziness. Adverse reactions that occurred in this study were generally similar to those that occurred in adjunctive placebo-controlled studies. One adverse reaction, insomnia, occurred at a rate of ≥2% and was not reported at a similar rate in previous studies. This adverse reaction has also been observed in postmarketing experience [see Adverse Reactions (6.2) ] . Because this study did not include a placebo control group, causality could not be established. Dizziness, headache, nausea, somnolence, and fatigue all occurred at lower incidences during the AED Withdrawal Phase and Monotherapy Phase, compared with the Titration Phase [see Clinical Studies (14.1) ] . Adjunctive Therapy Controlled Trials (Studies 2, 3, and 4) In adjunctive therapy controlled clinical trials for partial-onset seizures, the rate of discontinuation as a result of an adverse reaction was 8% and 17% in patients randomized to receive VIMPAT at the recommended doses of 200 and 400 mg/day, respectively, 29% at 600 mg/day (1.5 times greater than the maximum recommended dose), and 5% in patients randomized to receive placebo. The adverse reactions most commonly (>1% on VIMPAT and greater than placebo) leading to discontinuation were dizziness, ataxia, vomiting, diplopia, nausea, vertigo, and blurred vision. Table 4 gives the incidence of adverse reactions that occurred in ≥2% of adult patients with partial-onset seizures in the VIMPAT total group and for which the incidence was greater than placebo. Table 4: Adverse Reactions Incidence in Adjunctive Therapy Pooled, Placebo-Controlled Trials in Adult Patients with Partial-Onset Seizures (Studies 2, 3, and 4) Adverse Reaction Placebo N=364 % VIMPAT 200 mg/day N=270 % VIMPAT 400 mg/day N=471 % VIMPAT 600 mg/day 600 mg dose is 1.5 times greater than the maximum recommended dose. N=203 % VIMPAT Total N=944 % Ear and labyrinth disorder Vertig …

Drug Interactions

openFDA Drug Labeling

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS 7.1 Strong CYP3A4 or CYP2C9 Inhibitors Patients with renal or hepatic impairment who are taking strong inhibitors of CYP3A4 and CYP2C9 may have a significant increase in exposure to VIMPAT. Dose reduction may be necessary in these patients. 7.2 Concomitant Medications that Affect Cardiac Conduction VIMPAT should be used with caution in patients on concomitant medications that affect cardiac conduction (sodium channel blockers, beta-blockers, calcium channel blockers, potassium channel blockers) including those that prolong PR interval (including sodium channel blocking AEDs), because of a risk of AV block, bradycardia, or ventricular tachyarrhythmia. In such patients, obtaining an ECG before beginning VIMPAT, and after VIMPAT is titrated to steady-state, is recommended. In addition, these patients should be closely monitored if they are administered VIMPAT through the intravenous route [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ] .

Use in Specific Populations

openFDA Drug Labeling

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS Pregnancy: Based on animal data, may cause fetal harm ( 8.1 ) 8.1 Pregnancy Pregnancy Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in women exposed to antiepileptic drugs (AEDs), such as VIMPAT, during pregnancy. Encourage women who are taking VIMPAT during pregnancy to enroll in the North American Antiepileptic Drug (NAAED) pregnancy registry by calling 1-888-233-2334 or visiting http://www.aedpregnancyregistry.org/. Risk Summary Available data from the North American Antiepileptic Drug (NAAED) pregnancy registry, a prospective cohort study, case reports, and a case series with VIMPAT use in pregnant women are insufficient to identify a drug-associated risk of major birth defects, miscarriage or other adverse maternal or fetal outcomes . Lacosamide produced developmental toxicity (increased embryofetal and perinatal mortality, growth deficit) in rats following administration during pregnancy. Developmental neurotoxicity was observed in rats following administration during a period of postnatal development corresponding to the third trimester of human pregnancy. These effects were observed at doses associated with clinically relevant plasma exposures (see Data ) . The background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes. In the U.S. general population the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2-4% and 15-20%, respectively. Data Animal Data Oral administration of lacosamide to pregnant rats (20, 75, or 200 mg/kg/day) and rabbits (6.25, 12.5, or 25 mg/kg/day) during the period of organogenesis did not produce any effects on the incidences of fetal structural abnormalities. However, the maximum doses evaluated were limited by maternal toxicity in both species and embryofetal death in rats. These doses were associated with maternal plasma lacosamide exposures (AUC) approximately 2 and 1 times (rat and rabbit, respectively) that in humans at the maximum recommended human dose (MRHD) of 400 mg/day. In two studies in which lacosamide (25, 70, or 200 mg/kg/day and 50, 100, or 200 mg/kg/day) was orally administered to rats throughout pregnancy and lactation, increased perinatal mortality and decreased body weights in the offspring were observed at the highest dose tested. The no-effect dose for pre- and postnatal developmental toxicity in rats (70 mg/kg/day) was associated with a maternal plasma lacosamide AUC similar to that in humans at the MRHD. Oral administration of lacosamide (30, 90, or 180 mg/kg/day) to rats during the neonatal and juvenile periods of development resulted in decreased brain weights and long-term neurobehavioral changes (altered open field performance, deficits in learning and memory). The early postnatal period in rats is generally thought to correspond to late pregnancy in humans in terms of brain development. The no-effect dose for developmental neurotoxicity in rats was associated with a plasma lacosamide AUC less than that in humans at the MRHD. In Vitro Data Lacosamide has been shown in vitro to interfere with the activity of collapsin response mediator protein-2 (CRMP-2), a protein involved in neuronal differentiation and control of axonal outgrowth. Potential adverse effects on CNS development related to this activity cannot be ruled out. 8.2 Lactation Risk Summary Data from published literature indicate that lacosamide is present in human milk. There are reports of increased sleepiness in breastfed infants exposed to lacosamide (see Clinical Considerations ). There is no information on the effects of lacosamide on milk production. The developmental and health benefits of breastfeeding should be considered along with the mother's clinical need for VIMPAT and any potential adverse effects on the breastfed infant from VIMPAT or from the u …

Mechanism of Action

openFDA Drug Labeling

12.1 Mechanism of Action The precise mechanism by which VIMPAT exerts its antiepileptic effects in humans remains to be fully elucidated. In vitro electrophysiological studies have shown that lacosamide selectively enhances slow inactivation of voltage-gated sodium channels, resulting in stabilization of hyperexcitable neuronal membranes and inhibition of repetitive neuronal firing.

Description

openFDA Drug Labeling

11 DESCRIPTION The chemical name of lacosamide, the single (R)-enantiomer, is (R)-2-acetamido-N-benzyl-3-methoxypropionamide (IUPAC). Lacosamide is a functionalized amino acid. Its molecular formula is C 13 H 18 N 2 O 3 and its molecular weight is 250.30. The chemical structure is: Lacosamide is a white to light yellow powder. It is sparingly soluble in water and slightly soluble in acetonitrile and ethanol. Chemical Structure 11.1 VIMPAT Tablets VIMPAT tablets for oral administration contain lacosamide and the following inactive ingredients: colloidal silicon dioxide, crospovidone, hydroxypropylcellulose, magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, polyethylene glycol, polyvinyl alcohol, talc, titanium dioxide, and dye pigments as specified below: VIMPAT tablets are supplied as debossed tablets and contain the following coloring agents: 50 mg tablets: red iron oxide, black iron oxide, FD&C Blue #2/indigo carmine aluminum lake 100 mg tablets: yellow iron oxide 150 mg tablets: yellow iron oxide, red iron oxide, black iron oxide 200 mg tablets: FD&C Blue #2/indigo carmine aluminum lake 11.2 VIMPAT Injection VIMPAT injection is a clear, colorless, sterile solution containing 10 mg lacosamide per mL for intravenous infusion. One 20-mL vial contains 200 mg of lacosamide drug substance. The inactive ingredients are sodium chloride (7.62 mg/mL) and water for injection. Hydrochloric acid is used for pH adjustment. VIMPAT injection has a pH of 3.8 to 5.0. 11.3 VIMPAT Oral Solution VIMPAT oral solution contains 10 mg of lacosamide per mL. The inactive ingredients are purified water, sorbitol solution, glycerin, polyethylene glycol, carboxymethylcellulose sodium, acesulfame potassium, methylparaben, flavoring (including natural and artificial flavors, propylene glycol, aspartame, and maltol), anhydrous citric acid and sodium chloride.

10 OVERDOSAGE Events reported after an intake of more than 800 mg (twice the maximum recommended daily dosage) of VIMPAT include dizziness, nausea, and seizures (generalized tonic-clonic seizures, status epilepticus). Cardiac conduction disorders, confusion, decreased level of consciousness, cardiogenic shock, cardiac arrest, and coma have also been observed. Fatalities have occurred following lacosamide overdoses of several grams. There is no specific antidote for overdose with VIMPAT. Standard decontamination procedures should be followed. General supportive care of the patient is indicated including monitoring of vital signs and observation of the clinical status of patient. A Certified Poison Control Center should be contacted for up to date information on the management of overdose with VIMPAT. Standard hemodialysis procedures result in significant clearance of VIMPAT (reduction of systemic exposure by 50% in 4 hours). Hemodialysis may be indicated based on the patient's clinical state or in patients with significant renal impairment.

How Supplied / Storage and Handling

openFDA Drug Labeling

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING 16.1 How Supplied VIMPAT (lacosamide) Tablets 50 mg are pink, oval, film-coated tablets debossed with "SP" on one side and "50" on the other. They are supplied as follows: Bottles of 60 NDC 0131-2477-35 Unit Dose Carton of 60 tablets [6 cards, each card contains 10 tablets] NDC 0131-2477-60 100 mg are dark yellow, oval, film-coated tablets debossed with "SP" on one side and "100" on the other. They are supplied as follows: Bottles of 60 NDC 0131-2478-35 Unit Dose Carton of 60 tablets [6 cards, each card contains 10 tablets] NDC 0131-2478-60 150 mg are salmon, oval, film-coated tablets debossed with "SP" on one side and "150" on the other. They are supplied as follows: Bottles of 60 NDC 0131-2479-35 Unit Dose Carton of 60 tablets [6 cards, each card contains 10 tablets] NDC 0131-2479-60 200 mg are blue, oval, film-coated tablets debossed with "SP" on one side and "200" on the other. They are supplied as follows: Bottles of 60 NDC 0131-2480-35 Unit Dose Carton of 60 tablets [6 cards, each card contains 10 tablets] NDC 0131-2480-60 VIMPAT (lacosamide) Injection 200 mg/20 mL is a clear, colorless sterile solution supplied in 20 mL colorless single-dose glass vials. 200 mg/20 mL vial in cartons of 10 vials NDC 0131-1810-67 VIMPAT (lacosamide) Oral Solution 10 mg/mL is a clear, colorless to yellow or yellow-brown, strawberry-flavored liquid. It is supplied as follows: 200 mL in glass bottles NDC 0131-5410-72 16.2 Storage and Handling Store at 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F); excursions permitted between 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F). [See USP Controlled Room Temperature] Do not freeze VIMPAT injection or oral solution. Discard any unused VIMPAT oral solution remaining after six (6) months of first opening the bottle.

Adverse event reports

Source: openFDA FAERS
36,995
FAERS reports mentioning this drug
as of 2026-09-25T03:42:24+00:00
A report count is not a risk measure. FAERS accepts voluntary and mandatory reports without establishing causation, and reporting is influenced by how widely a drug is used, how long it has been marketed, and media attention. FDA states that reports “do not prove that the drug caused the event”. Compare rates, not totals.

Attributed to this product's most-reported active ingredient: LACOSAMIDE. Combination products with more than six active ingredients are not attributed, because a report count summed across a long ingredient list measures the list, not the medicine.

Packaging and NDCs

Source: NDC Directory
Every National Drug Code package associated with this medication. The NDC is the identifier used for dispensing, billing and pharmacovigilance in the United States.
Package NDC Product NDC Labeler Description Marketing start
0131-2477-35 0131-2477 UCB, Inc. 60 TABLET, FILM COATED in 1 BOTTLE, PLASTIC (0131-2477-35) May 26, 2009
0131-2477-60 0131-2477 UCB, Inc. 6 BLISTER PACK in 1 CARTON (0131-2477-60) / 10 TABLET, FILM COATED in 1 BLISTER PACK May 26, 2009
0131-2477-99 0131-2477 UCB, Inc. 1 BLISTER PACK in 1 CARTON (0131-2477-99) / 14 TABLET, FILM COATED in 1 BLISTER PACK May 26, 2009
0131-2478-35 0131-2478 UCB, Inc. 60 TABLET, FILM COATED in 1 BOTTLE, PLASTIC (0131-2478-35) May 26, 2009
0131-2478-60 0131-2478 UCB, Inc. 6 BLISTER PACK in 1 CARTON (0131-2478-60) / 10 TABLET, FILM COATED in 1 BLISTER PACK May 26, 2009
0131-2478-99 0131-2478 UCB, Inc. 1 BLISTER PACK in 1 CARTON (0131-2478-99) / 14 TABLET, FILM COATED in 1 BLISTER PACK May 26, 2009
0131-2479-35 0131-2479 UCB, Inc. 60 TABLET, FILM COATED in 1 BOTTLE, PLASTIC (0131-2479-35) May 26, 2009
0131-2479-60 0131-2479 UCB, Inc. 6 BLISTER PACK in 1 CARTON (0131-2479-60) / 10 TABLET, FILM COATED in 1 BLISTER PACK May 26, 2009
0131-2479-99 0131-2479 UCB, Inc. 1 BLISTER PACK in 1 CARTON (0131-2479-99) / 14 TABLET, FILM COATED in 1 BLISTER PACK May 26, 2009
0131-2480-35 0131-2480 UCB, Inc. 60 TABLET, FILM COATED in 1 BOTTLE, PLASTIC (0131-2480-35) May 26, 2009
0131-2480-60 0131-2480 UCB, Inc. 6 BLISTER PACK in 1 CARTON (0131-2480-60) / 10 TABLET, FILM COATED in 1 BLISTER PACK May 26, 2009
0131-2480-99 0131-2480 UCB, Inc. 1 BLISTER PACK in 1 CARTON (0131-2480-99) / 14 TABLET, FILM COATED in 1 BLISTER PACK May 26, 2009
0131-2477 0131-2477 UCB, Inc. — May 26, 2009
0131-2478 0131-2478 UCB, Inc. — May 26, 2009
0131-2479 0131-2479 UCB, Inc. — May 26, 2009
0131-2480 0131-2480 UCB, Inc. — May 26, 2009

Sources for this page

Every dataset that contributed a fact to this page.
Dataset Agency Used for
NDC Directory FDA Identity, ingredients, strengths, forms, routes, labelers, packages
Drugs@FDA FDA Application, sponsor, submissions, review documents, marketing status
Orange Book FDA Therapeutic equivalence codes, reference drug flags, patents, exclusivity
Drug Labeling FDA / NLM Prescribing information reproduced above
FAERS FDA Adverse event report counts

Generated September 25, 2026 · 12 sections on this page.