On this page

JAKAFI

ruxolitinib · Tablet

Prescription NDA RLD Official labelling
Informational index, not medical advice. Content is reproduced from public FDA and NLM data. Always confirm against the manufacturer's current prescribing information. Report adverse events to FDA MedWatch.

Overview

Brand name
JAKAFI
Generic name
ruxolitinib
Dosage form
Tablet
Route
Oral
Marketing category
NDA · NDA
Labeler
Incyte Corporation
Product type
Human Prescription Drug
DEA schedule
Not scheduled
Active ingredients
5
NDC product codes
5
Packages
6
Data completeness
82% of corroborating sources present

Active ingredients

Source: NDC Directory
Active ingredients and strengths as listed in the NDC Directory.
Ingredient Strength RxCUI Monograph
Ruxolitinib 10 mg/1 1193331 View
Ruxolitinib 15 mg/1 1193331 View
Ruxolitinib 20 mg/1 1193331 View
Ruxolitinib 25 mg/1 1193331 View
Ruxolitinib 5 mg/1 1193331 View

Forms, strengths and routes

Source: NDC Directory
Dosage form
Tablet
Route of administration
Oral
Presentations
11

Pharmacologic classes are listed in the class section below.

Pharmacologic class

Source: NDC Directory
Established pharmacologic classes (EPC), mechanisms of action (MoA), chemical structures (CS) and physiologic effects (PE).
Class Type Browse
Janus Kinase Inhibitor [EPC] EPC All 15 members
Janus Kinase Inhibitors [MoA] MoA All 15 members
Kinase Inhibitor [EPC] EPC All 89 members

Regulatory status

Source: Drugs@FDANDC Directory
Application number
202192
Application type
NDA · New Drug Application
Approval date
November 16, 2011
Sponsor
INCYTE CORP
Products on application
5
Submissions recorded
22
Products approved under application 202192.
Product Trade name Form Strength Ingredient Status TE Flags
202192-001 JAKAFI TABLET RUXOLITINIB PHOSPHATE Prescription — RLD
202192-002 JAKAFI TABLET RUXOLITINIB PHOSPHATE Prescription — RLD
202192-003 JAKAFI TABLET RUXOLITINIB PHOSPHATE Prescription — RLD
202192-004 JAKAFI TABLET RUXOLITINIB PHOSPHATE Prescription — RLD
202192-005 JAKAFI TABLET RUXOLITINIB PHOSPHATE Prescription — RLD RS

Therapeutic equivalence

Source: Orange Book
TE code
—
Reference Listed Drug
Yes
Reference Standard
Yes

Codes beginning with “A” indicate products the FDA considers therapeutically equivalent. Codes beginning with “B” indicate bioequivalence has not been established. See methodology.

Patents and exclusivity

Source: Orange Book
Patent listings submitted under 21 U.S.C. 355(b)(1) and (c)(2).
Patent Expires Product Substance Use code Submitted
9079912 December 12, 2026 001 No U-3226 August 4, 2015
9079912 December 12, 2026 001 No U-3228 August 4, 2015
9079912 December 12, 2026 001 No U-3227 August 4, 2015
9814722 December 12, 2026 001 No U-3226 June 12, 2019
9079912 December 12, 2026 001 No U-3230 August 4, 2015
9814722 December 12, 2026 001 No U-3230 June 12, 2019
9079912 December 12, 2026 002 No U-3227 August 4, 2015
9079912 December 12, 2026 002 No U-3226 August 4, 2015
9079912 December 12, 2026 002 No U-3228 August 4, 2015
9814722 December 12, 2026 002 No U-3226 June 12, 2019
9814722 December 12, 2026 002 No U-3230 June 12, 2019
9079912 December 12, 2026 002 No U-3230 August 4, 2015
9814722 December 12, 2026 003 No U-3226 June 12, 2019
9079912 December 12, 2026 003 No U-3228 August 4, 2015
9079912 December 12, 2026 003 No U-3226 August 4, 2015
9079912 December 12, 2026 003 No U-3227 August 4, 2015
9079912 December 12, 2026 003 No U-3230 August 4, 2015
9814722 December 12, 2026 003 No U-3230 June 12, 2019
9079912 December 12, 2026 004 No U-3227 August 4, 2015
9079912 December 12, 2026 004 No U-3228 August 4, 2015
9079912 December 12, 2026 004 No U-3226 August 4, 2015
9814722 December 12, 2026 004 No U-3226 June 12, 2019
9079912 December 12, 2026 004 No U-3230 August 4, 2015
9814722 December 12, 2026 004 No U-3230 June 12, 2019
9079912 December 12, 2026 005 No U-3228 August 4, 2015
9079912 December 12, 2026 005 No U-3226 August 4, 2015
9079912 December 12, 2026 005 No U-3227 August 4, 2015
9814722 December 12, 2026 005 No U-3226 June 12, 2019
9814722 December 12, 2026 005 No U-3230 June 12, 2019
9079912 December 12, 2026 005 No U-3230 August 4, 2015
9079912*PED June 12, 2027 001 No —
9814722*PED June 12, 2027 001 No —
9079912*PED June 12, 2027 002 No —
9814722*PED June 12, 2027 002 No —
9079912*PED June 12, 2027 003 No —
9814722*PED June 12, 2027 003 No —
9079912*PED June 12, 2027 004 No —
9814722*PED June 12, 2027 004 No —
9079912*PED June 12, 2027 005 No —
9814722*PED June 12, 2027 005 No —
7598257 December 24, 2027 001 Yes U-3228 December 1, 2011
7598257 December 24, 2027 001 Yes U-3227 December 1, 2011
8415362 December 24, 2027 001 Yes April 29, 2013
7598257 December 24, 2027 002 Yes U-3228 December 1, 2011
7598257 December 24, 2027 002 Yes U-3227 December 1, 2011
8415362 December 24, 2027 002 Yes —
7598257 December 24, 2027 003 Yes U-3228 December 1, 2011
7598257 December 24, 2027 003 Yes U-3227 December 1, 2011
8415362 December 24, 2027 003 Yes —
7598257 December 24, 2027 004 Yes U-3227 December 1, 2011
7598257 December 24, 2027 004 Yes U-3228 December 1, 2011
8415362 December 24, 2027 004 Yes —
7598257 December 24, 2027 005 Yes U-3227 December 1, 2011
7598257 December 24, 2027 005 Yes U-3228 December 1, 2011
8415362 December 24, 2027 005 Yes —
8822481 June 12, 2028 001 No U-1573 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 001 No U-1622 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 001 No U-1201 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 001 No U-3226 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 001 No U-3228 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 001 No U-3227 September 24, 2014
10016429 June 12, 2028 001 No U-3226 June 12, 2019
8829013 June 12, 2028 001 No U-3227 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 001 No U-3228 September 24, 2014
10016429 June 12, 2028 001 No U-3230 June 12, 2019
8822481 June 12, 2028 001 No U-3230 September 24, 2014
8722693 June 12, 2028 001 Yes June 3, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 002 No U-1573 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 002 No U-1201 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 002 No U-1622 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 002 No U-3228 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 002 No U-3226 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 002 No U-3227 September 24, 2014
10016429 June 12, 2028 002 No U-3226 June 12, 2019
8829013 June 12, 2028 002 No U-3228 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 002 No U-3227 September 24, 2014
10016429 June 12, 2028 002 No U-3230 June 12, 2019
8822481 June 12, 2028 002 No U-3230 September 24, 2014
8722693 June 12, 2028 002 Yes June 3, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 003 No U-1573 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 003 No U-1201 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 003 No U-1622 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 003 No U-3228 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 003 No U-3227 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 003 No U-3226 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 003 No U-3227 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 003 No U-3228 September 24, 2014
10016429 June 12, 2028 003 No U-3226 June 12, 2019
8822481 June 12, 2028 003 No U-3230 September 24, 2014
10016429 June 12, 2028 003 No U-3230 June 12, 2019
8722693 June 12, 2028 003 Yes June 3, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 004 No U-1573 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 004 No U-1622 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 004 No U-1201 September 24, 2014
10016429 June 12, 2028 004 No U-3226 June 12, 2019
8822481 June 12, 2028 004 No U-3226 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 004 No U-3228 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 004 No U-3227 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 004 No U-3227 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 004 No U-3228 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 004 No U-3230 September 24, 2014
10016429 June 12, 2028 004 No U-3230 June 12, 2019
8722693 June 12, 2028 004 Yes June 3, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 005 No U-1573 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 005 No U-1622 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 005 No U-1201 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 005 No U-3228 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 005 No U-3227 September 24, 2014
8822481 June 12, 2028 005 No U-3226 September 24, 2014
10016429 June 12, 2028 005 No U-3226 June 12, 2019
8829013 June 12, 2028 005 No U-3228 September 24, 2014
8829013 June 12, 2028 005 No U-3227 September 24, 2014
10016429 June 12, 2028 005 No U-3230 June 12, 2019
8822481 June 12, 2028 005 No U-3230 September 24, 2014
8722693 June 12, 2028 005 Yes June 3, 2014
7598257*PED June 24, 2028 001 No —
8415362*PED June 24, 2028 001 No —
7598257*PED June 24, 2028 002 No —
8415362*PED June 24, 2028 002 No —
7598257*PED June 24, 2028 003 No —
8415362*PED June 24, 2028 003 No —
7598257*PED June 24, 2028 004 No —
8415362*PED June 24, 2028 004 No —
7598257*PED June 24, 2028 005 No —
8415362*PED June 24, 2028 005 No —
8722693*PED December 12, 2028 001 No —
8822481*PED December 12, 2028 001 No —
8829013*PED December 12, 2028 001 No —
10016429*PED December 12, 2028 001 No —
8722693*PED December 12, 2028 002 No —
8822481*PED December 12, 2028 002 No —
8829013*PED December 12, 2028 002 No —
10016429*PED December 12, 2028 002 No —
8722693*PED December 12, 2028 003 No —
8822481*PED December 12, 2028 003 No —
8829013*PED December 12, 2028 003 No —
10016429*PED December 12, 2028 003 No —
8722693*PED December 12, 2028 004 No —
8822481*PED December 12, 2028 004 No —
8829013*PED December 12, 2028 004 No —
10016429*PED December 12, 2028 004 No —
8722693*PED December 12, 2028 005 No —
8822481*PED December 12, 2028 005 No —
8829013*PED December 12, 2028 005 No —
10016429*PED December 12, 2028 005 No —
Regulatory exclusivity periods.
Code Expires Product
M-285 December 19, 2025 001
M-285 December 19, 2025 002
M-285 December 19, 2025 003
M-285 December 19, 2025 004
M-285 December 19, 2025 005
ODE-238 May 24, 2026 001
ODE-238 May 24, 2026 002
ODE-238 May 24, 2026 003
ODE-238 May 24, 2026 004
ODE-238 May 24, 2026 005
PED June 19, 2026 001
PED June 19, 2026 002
PED June 19, 2026 003
PED June 19, 2026 004
PED June 19, 2026 005
PED November 24, 2026 001
PED November 24, 2026 002
PED November 24, 2026 003
PED November 24, 2026 004
PED November 24, 2026 005
ODE-373 September 22, 2028 001
ODE-373 September 22, 2028 002
ODE-373 September 22, 2028 003
ODE-373 September 22, 2028 004
ODE-373 September 22, 2028 005
PED March 22, 2029 001
PED March 22, 2029 002
PED March 22, 2029 003
PED March 22, 2029 004
PED March 22, 2029 005

Approval history

Source: Drugs@FDA
Most recent submissions on application 202192.
Type No. Action Status Date Review
Supplement 33 Labeling Approved July 20, 2026 Standard
Supplement 28 Labeling Approved January 31, 2023 Standard
Supplement 27 Efficacy Approved December 19, 2022 Priority
Supplement 25 Labeling Approved September 27, 2021 Standard
Supplement 23 Efficacy Approved September 22, 2021 Priority
Supplement 19 Labeling Approved January 14, 2020 Standard
Supplement 17 Efficacy Approved May 24, 2019 Priority
Supplement 16 Labeling Approved October 26, 2018 Standard
Supplement 15 Labeling Approved December 6, 2017 Standard
Supplement 14 Efficacy Approved October 10, 2017 Standard
Supplement 12 Efficacy Approved March 10, 2016 Standard
Supplement 10 Manufacturing (CMC) Approved December 2, 2015 Priority
Supplement 11 Manufacturing (CMC) Approved October 6, 2015 Priority
Supplement 9 Labeling Approved December 15, 2014 Standard
Supplement 8 Efficacy Approved December 4, 2014 Priority
Supplement 6 Efficacy Approved July 25, 2014 Standard
Supplement 7 Manufacturing (CMC) Approved May 30, 2014 Priority
Supplement 5 Labeling Approved November 25, 2013 Standard
Supplement 4 Manufacturing (CMC) Approved November 7, 2013 Priority
Supplement 3 Efficacy Approved June 12, 2013 Standard
Supplement 1 Labeling Approved June 21, 2012 Standard
Original application 1 Type 1 - New Molecular Entity Approved November 16, 2011 Priority

Review documents

  • 0 · Supplement · July 30, 2026
  • 0 · Supplement · July 22, 2026
  • 0 · Supplement · November 19, 2025
  • 0 · Supplement · November 19, 2025
  • 0 · Supplement · October 23, 2025
  • 0 · Supplement · February 2, 2023
  • 0 · Supplement · February 1, 2023
  • 0 · Supplement · December 21, 2022
  • 0 · Supplement · December 21, 2022
  • 0 · Supplement · September 30, 2021
  • 0 · Supplement · September 30, 2021
  • 0 · Supplement · September 30, 2021
  • 0 · Supplement · September 28, 2021
  • 0 · Supplement · January 24, 2020
  • 0 · Supplement · January 23, 2020
  • 0 · Supplement · June 4, 2019
  • 0 · Supplement · May 24, 2019
  • 0 · Supplement · October 30, 2018
  • 0 · Supplement · October 29, 2018
  • 0 · Supplement · December 12, 2017
  • 0 · Supplement · December 12, 2017
  • 0 · Supplement · October 12, 2017
  • 0 · Supplement · October 11, 2017
  • 0 · Supplement · March 15, 2016
  • 0 · Supplement · March 14, 2016
  • 0 · Supplement · December 16, 2014
  • 0 · Supplement · December 16, 2014
  • 0 · Supplement · December 5, 2014
  • 0 · Supplement · December 4, 2014
  • 0 · Supplement · July 28, 2014

Prescribing information

Source: openFDA Drug Labeling

Reproduced verbatim from the Structured Product Labeling submitted to the FDA (effective 20260720). This is the manufacturer's labelling text, not a summary and not advice.

HUMAN PRESCRIPTION DRUG · 20260720

Recent Major Changes

openFDA Drug Labeling

kjhkj bnvv Dosage and Administration ( 2.1 , 2.2 , 2.3 , 2.4 , 2.5 , 2.6 , 2.7 , 2.8 ) 05/2026

Indications and Usage

openFDA Drug Labeling

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR is a kinase inhibitor indicated for treatment of: intermediate or high-risk myelofibrosis, including primary myelofibrosis, post-polycythemia vera myelofibrosis, and post-essential thrombocythemia myelofibrosis in adults. ( 1.1 ) polycythemia vera in adults who have had an inadequate response to or are intolerant of hydroxyurea. ( 1.2 ) steroid-refractory acute graft-versus-host disease in adult and pediatric patients 12 years and older. ( 1.3 ) chronic graft-versus-host disease after failure of one or two lines of systemic therapy in adult and pediatric patients 12 years and older. ( 1.4 ) 1.1 Myelofibrosis JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR is indicated for treatment of intermediate or high-risk myelofibrosis (MF), including primary MF, post-polycythemia vera MF, and post-essential thrombocythemia MF in adults. 1.2 Polycythemia Vera JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR is indicated for treatment of polycythemia vera (PV) in adults who have had an inadequate response to or are intolerant of hydroxyurea. 1.3 Acute Graft-Versus-Host Disease JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR is indicated for treatment of steroid-refractory acute graft-versus-host disease (aGVHD) in adult and pediatric patients 12 years and older. 1.4 Chronic Graft-Versus-Host Disease JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR is indicated for treatment of chronic graft-versus-host disease (cGVHD) after failure of one or two lines of systemic therapy in adult and pediatric patients 12 years and older.

Dosage and Administration

openFDA Drug Labeling

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Doses should be individualized based on safety and efficacy. Starting doses per indication are noted below. Myelofibrosis ( 2.2 ) The starting dose of JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR is based on patient’s baseline platelet count: • Greater than 200 × 10 9 /L: JAKAFI 20 mg given orally twice daily or JAKAFI XR 44 mg given orally once daily. • 100 x 10 9 /L to 200 x 10 9 /L: JAKAFI 15 mg given orally twice daily or JAKAFI XR 33 mg given orally once daily. • 50 x 10 9 /L to less than 100 x 10 9 /L: JAKAFI 5 mg given orally twice daily or JAKAFI XR 11 mg given orally once daily. Polycythemia Vera ( 2.3 ) The starting dose of JAKAFI is 10 mg given orally twice daily or JAKAFI XR 22 mg given orally once daily. Acute Graft-Versus-Host Disease ( 2.4 ) The starting dose of JAKAFI is 5 mg given orally twice daily or JAKAFI XR 11 mg given orally once daily. Chronic Graft-Versus-Host Disease ( 2.5 ) The starting dose of JAKAFI is 10 mg given orally twice daily or JAKAFI XR 22 mg given orally once daily. 2.1 Monitoring to Assess Safety Prior to JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR treatment: Perform a complete blood count (CBC) [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . Inquire about past infections, including tuberculosis, herpes simplex, herpes zoster, and hepatitis B [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] . During treatment with JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR : Perform a CBC every 2 to 4 weeks until doses are stabilized, and then as clinically indicated [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . Assess lipid parameters approximately 8 to 12 weeks following initiation of JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR therapy [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.5 )] . 2.2 Recommended Dosage for Myelofibrosis The recommended starting dose of JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR is based on platelet count (Table 1). Doses may be titrated based on safety and efficacy. Table 1: JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR Starting Doses for Myelofibrosis Platelet Count JAKAFI Starting Dose JAKAFI XR Starting Dose Greater than 200 x 10 9 /L 20 mg orally twice daily 44 mg orally once daily 100 x 10 9 /L to 200 x 10 9 /L 15 mg orally twice daily 33 mg orally once daily 50 x 10 9 /L to less than 100 x 10 9 /L 5 mg orally twice daily 11 mg orally once daily Dose Modification Guidelines for Hematologic Toxicity for Patients With Myelofibrosis Starting Treatment With a Platelet Count of 100 × 10 9 /L or Greater Dose Reductions JAKAFI dose reductions should be considered if the platelet counts decrease as outlined in Table 2 with the goal of avoiding dose interruptions for thrombocytopenia. Table 2: Myelofibrosis: JAKAFI Dosing Recommendations for Thrombocytopenia for Patients Starting Treatment With a Platelet Count of 100 × 10 9 /L or Greater Dose at Time of Platelet Decline Platelet Count 25 mg Twice Daily 20 mg Twice Daily 15 mg Twice Daily 10 mg Twice Daily 5 mg Twice Daily New Dose New Dose New Dose New Dose New Dose 100 to less than 125 x 10 9 /L 20 mg twice daily 15 mg twice daily No change No change No change 75 to less than 100 x 10 9 /L 10 mg twice daily 10 mg twice daily 10 mg twice daily No change No change 50 to less than 75 x 10 9 /L 5 mg twice daily 5 mg twice daily 5 mg twice daily 5 mg twice daily No change Less than 50 x 10 9 /L Hold Hold Hold Hold Hold JAKAFI XR dose reductions should be considered if the platelet counts decrease as outlined in Table 3, with the goal of avoiding dose interruptions for thrombocytopenia. Table 3: Myelofibrosis: JAKAFI XR Dosing Recommendations for Thrombocytopenia for Patients Starting Treatment With a Platelet Count of 100 × 10 9 /L or Greater Dose at Time of Platelet Decline Platelet Count 55 mg Once Daily 44 mg Once Daily 33 mg Once Daily 22 mg Once Daily 11 mg Once Daily New Dose New Dose New Dose New Dose New Dose 100 to less than 125 x 10 9 /L 44 mg once daily 33 mg once daily No change No change No change 75 to less than 100 x 10 9 /L 22 mg once daily 22 mg once daily 22 mg once daily No change No change 50 to less than 75 x 10 9 /L 11 mg once daily 11 mg once daily 11 mg once daily 11 mg once d …

Dosage Forms and Strengths

openFDA Drug Labeling

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS JAKAFI : 5 mg tablets - round and white with "INCY" on one side and "5" on the other. 10 mg tablets - round and white with "INCY" on one side and "10" on the other. 15 mg tablets - oval and white with "INCY" on one side and "15" on the other. 20 mg tablets - capsule-shaped and white with "INCY" on one side and "20" on the other. 25 mg tablets - oval and white with "INCY" on one side and "25" on the other. JAKAFI XR : 11 mg extended-release tablets - round and light pink with “I” on one side and “11” on the other. 22 mg extended-release tablets - round and light yellow with “I” on one side and “22” on the other. 33 mg extended-release tablets - round and pink with “I” on one side and “33” on the other. 44 mg extended-release tablets - round and grey with “I” on one side and “44” on the other. 55 mg extended-release tablets - round and yellow with “I” on one side and “55” on the other. JAKAFI tablets: 5 mg, 10 mg, 15 mg, 20 mg and 25 mg. ( 3 ) JAKAFI XR extended-release tablets: 11 mg, 22 mg, 33 mg, 44 mg and 55 mg. ( 3 )

Contraindications

openFDA Drug Labeling

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS None. None. ( 4 )

Warnings and Cautions

openFDA Drug Labeling

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Thrombocytopenia, Anemia, and Neutropenia: Manage by dose reduction or interruption, or transfusion. ( 5.1 ) Risk of Infection: Assess patients for signs and symptoms of infection and initiate appropriate treatment promptly. Serious infections should have resolved before starting therapy with JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR. ( 5.2 ) Symptom Exacerbation Following Interruption or Discontinuation: Manage with supportive care and consider resuming treatment with JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR. ( 5.3 ) Risk of Non-Melanoma Skin Cancer: Perform periodic skin examinations. ( 5.4 ) Lipid Elevations: Assess lipid levels 8 to 12 weeks from start of therapy and treat as needed. ( 5.5 ) Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE): Monitor for development of MACE. ( 5.6 ) Thrombosis: Evaluate and treat symptoms of thrombosis promptly. ( 5.7 ) Secondary Malignancies: Monitor for development of secondary malignancies, particularly in patients who are current or past smokers. ( 5.8 ) 5.1 Thrombocytopenia, Anemia, and Neutropenia Treatment with JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR can cause thrombocytopenia, anemia, and neutropenia [ see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 )] . Manage thrombocytopenia by reducing the dose or temporarily interrupting JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR. Platelet transfusions may be necessary [ see Dosage and Administration ( 2 ) ] . Patients developing anemia may require blood transfusions and/or dose modifications of JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR. Severe neutropenia (ANC less than 0.5 × 10 9 /L) was generally reversible by withholding JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR until recovery. Perform a pre-treatment CBC and monitor CBCs every 2 to 4 weeks until doses are stabilized, and then as clinically indicated [ see Dosage and Administration ( 2 )] . 5.2 Risk of Infection Serious bacterial, mycobacterial, fungal, and viral infections have occurred [ see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 )] . Delay starting therapy with JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR until active serious infections have resolved. Observe patients receiving JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR for signs and symptoms of infection and manage promptly. Use active surveillance and prophylactic antibiotics according to clinical guidelines. Tuberculosis Tuberculosis infection has been reported in patients receiving JAKAFI. Observe patients receiving JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR for signs and symptoms of active tuberculosis and manage promptly. Prior to initiating JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR, patients should be evaluated for tuberculosis risk factors, and those at higher risk should be tested for latent infection. Risk factors include, but are not limited to, prior residence in or travel to countries with a high prevalence of tuberculosis, close contact with a person with active tuberculosis, and a history of active or latent tuberculosis where an adequate course of treatment cannot be confirmed. For patients with evidence of active or latent tuberculosis, consult a physician with expertise in the treatment of tuberculosis before starting JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR. The decision to continue JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR during treatment of active tuberculosis should be based on the overall risk-benefit determination. Progressive Multifocal Leukoencephalopathy Progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy (PML) has occurred with JAKAFI treatment. If PML is suspected, stop JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR and evaluate. Herpes Zoster and Herpes Simplex Herpes zoster infection has been reported in patients receiving JAKAFI [see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 )] . Advise patients about early signs and symptoms of herpes zoster and to seek treatment as early as possible if suspected. Herpes simplex virus reactivation and/or dissemination has been reported in patients receiving JAKAFI [see Adverse Reactions ( 6.2 )] . Monitor patients for the development of herpes simplex infections. If a patient develops evidence of dissemination of herpes simplex, consider interrupting treatment with JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR; patients should be promptly treated and monitored according to clinical guidelines. Hepatitis B Hepatitis B viral load (HBV-DNA titer) increases, with or wit …

Adverse Reactions

openFDA Drug Labeling

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following clinically significant adverse reactions are discussed in greater detail in other sections of the labeling: Thrombocytopenia, Anemia and Neutropenia [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] Risk of Infection [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] Symptom Exacerbation Following Interruption or Discontinuation of Treatment [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )] Non-Melanoma Skin Cancer [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 )] Lipid Elevations [ see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.5 )] Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE) [ see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.6 )] Thrombosis [ see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.7 )] Secondary Malignancies [ see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.8 )] In myelofibrosis and polycythemia vera, the most common hematologic adverse reactions (incidence > 20%) are thrombocytopenia and anemia. The most common nonhematologic adverse reactions (incidence ≥ 15%) are bruising, dizziness, headache, and diarrhea. ( 6.1 ) In acute graft-versus-host disease, the most common hematologic adverse reactions (incidence > 50%) are anemia, thrombocytopenia, and neutropenia. The most common nonhematologic adverse reactions (incidence > 50%) are infections (pathogen not specified) and edema. ( 6.1 ) In chronic graft-versus-host disease, the most common hematologic adverse reactions (incidence > 35%) are anemia and thrombocytopenia. The most common nonhematologic adverse reactions (incidence ≥ 20%) are infections (pathogen not specified) and viral infections. ( 6.1 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Incyte Corporation at 1-855-463-3463 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch 6.1 Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect the rates observed in practice. The safety of JAKAFI XR has been established from adequate and well-controlled studies of JAKAFI in adult patients with myelofibrosis, polycythemia vera, and adult and pediatric patients with acute and chronic graft-versus-host-disease [see Clinical Studies ( 14 )] . Below is a display of the adverse reactions of JAKAFI in these adequate and well-controlled studies. Myelofibrosis The safety of JAKAFI was assessed in 617 patients in 6 clinical studies with a median duration of follow-up of 10.9 months, including 301 patients with MF in 2 Phase 3 studies. In these 2 Phase 3 studies, patients had a median duration of exposure to JAKAFI of 9.5 months (range: 0.5 to 17 months), with 89% of patients treated for more than 6 months and 25% treated for more than 12 months. One hundred and eleven (111) patients started treatment at 15 mg twice daily and 190 patients started at 20 mg twice daily. In patients starting treatment with 15 mg twice daily (pretreatment platelet counts of 100 to 200 × 10 9 /L) and 20 mg twice daily (pretreatment platelet counts greater than 200 × 10 9 /L), 65% and 25% of patients, respectively, required a dose reduction below the starting dose within the first 8 weeks of therapy. In a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled study of JAKAFI, among the 155 patients treated with JAKAFI, the most frequent adverse reactions were thrombocytopenia and anemia [see Table 14] . Thrombocytopenia, anemia, and neutropenia are dose-related effects. The 3 most frequent nonhematologic adverse reactions were bruising, dizziness, and headache [see Table 13 ] . Discontinuation for adverse events, regardless of causality, was observed in 11% of patients treated with JAKAFI and 11% of patients treated with placebo. Table 15 presents the most common nonhematologic adverse reactions occurring in patients who received JAKAFI in the double-blind, placebo-controlled study during randomized treatment. Table 15: Myelofibrosis: Nonhematologic Adverse Reactions Occurring in Patients on JAKAFI in the Double-Blind, Placebo-Contro …

Drug Interactions

openFDA Drug Labeling

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS Fluconazole: Avoid concomitant use with fluconazole doses greater than 200 mg. Reduce JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR dosage with fluconazole doses less than or equal to 200 mg. ( 2.6 , 7 ) Strong CYP3A4 Inhibitors: Reduce, interrupt, or discontinue JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR doses as recommended except in patients with acute or chronic graft-versus-host-disease. ( 2.6 , 7 ) 7.1 Effect of Other Drugs on JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR Fluconazole Concomitant use of JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR with fluconazole increases ruxolitinib exposure [ see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] , which may increase the risk of exposure-related adverse reactions. Avoid concomitant use of JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR with fluconazole doses of greater than 200 mg daily. Reduce the JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR dosage when used concomitantly with fluconazole doses of less than or equal to 200 mg [ see Dosage and Administration ( 2.6 )] . Strong CYP3A4 Inhibitors Concomitant use of JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR with strong CYP3A4 inhibitors increases ruxolitinib exposure [ see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] , which may increase the risk of exposure-related adverse reactions. Reduce the JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR dosage when used concomitantly with strong CYP3A4 inhibitors except in patients with aGVHD or cGVHD [ see Dosage and Administration ( 2.6 )] . Strong CYP3A4 Inducers Concomitant use of JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR with strong CYP3A4 inducers may decrease ruxolitinib exposure [ see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] , which may reduce efficacy of JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR. Monitor patients frequently and adjust the JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR dose based on safety and efficacy [ see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] .

Use in Specific Populations

openFDA Drug Labeling

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS Renal Impairment: Reduce JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR starting dose or avoid treatment as recommended. ( 2.7 , 8.6 ) Hepatic Impairment: Reduce JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR starting dose or avoid treatment as recommended. ( 2.7 , 8.7 ) Lactation: Advise not to breastfeed. ( 8.2 ) 8.1 Pregnancy Risk Summary When pregnant rats and rabbits were administered ruxolitinib during the period of organogenesis adverse developmental outcomes occurred at doses associated with maternal toxicity (see Data) . There are no studies with the use of JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR in pregnant women to inform drug-associated risks. The background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated populations is unknown. Adverse outcomes in pregnancy occur regardless of the health of the mother or the use of medications. The background risk in the U.S. general population of major birth defects is 2% to 4% and miscarriage is 15% to 20% of clinically recognized pregnancies. Data Animal Data Ruxolitinib was administered orally to pregnant rats or rabbits during the period of organogenesis, at doses of 15, 30, or 60 mg/kg/day in rats and 10, 30, or 60 mg/kg/day in rabbits. There were no treatment-related malformations. Adverse developmental outcomes, such as decreases of approximately 9% in fetal weights were noted in rats at the highest and maternally toxic dose of 60 mg/kg/day. This dose results in an exposure (AUC) that is approximately 2 times the clinical exposure at the maximum recommended dose of 25 mg twice daily. In rabbits, lower fetal weights of approximately 8% and increased late resorptions were noted at the highest and maternally toxic dose of 60 mg/kg/day. This dose is approximately 7% of the clinical exposure at the maximum recommended dose. In a pre- and post-natal development study in rats, pregnant animals were dosed with ruxolitinib from implantation through lactation at doses up to 30 mg/kg/day. There were no drug-related adverse findings in pups for fertility indices or for maternal or embryofetal survival, growth, and development parameters at the highest dose evaluated (34% the clinical exposure at the maximum recommended dose of 25 mg twice daily). 8.2 Lactation Risk Summary No data are available regarding the presence of ruxolitinib in human milk, the effects on the breast-fed child, or the effects on milk production. Ruxolitinib and/or its metabolites were present in the milk of lactating rats (see Data) . Because many drugs are present in human milk and because of the potential for thrombocytopenia and anemia shown for JAKAFI in human studies, discontinue breastfeeding during treatment with JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR and for 2 weeks after the final dose. Data Animal Data Lactating rats were administered a single dose of [ 14 C]-labeled ruxolitinib (30 mg/kg) on postnatal Day 10, after which plasma and milk samples were collected for up to 24 hours. The AUC for total radioactivity in milk was approximately 13-fold the maternal plasma AUC. Additional analysis showed the presence of ruxolitinib and several of its metabolites in milk, all at levels higher than those in maternal plasma. 8.4 Pediatric Use Myelofibrosis The safety and effectiveness of JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR for treatment of MF in pediatric patients have not been established. Polycythemia Vera The safety and effectiveness of JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR for treatment of PV in pediatric patients have not been established. Acute Graft-Versus-Host Disease The safety and effectiveness of JAKAFI for treatment of steroid-refractory aGVHD has been established for treatment of pediatric patients 12 years and older. Use of JAKAFI in pediatric patients with steroid-refractory aGVHD is supported by evidence from adequate and well-controlled trials of JAKAFI in adults [ see Clinical Studies ( 14.3 )] and additional pharmacokinetic and safety data in pediatric patients. The safety and effectiveness of JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR for treatment of steroid-refractory aGVHD has not been established in pediatric patien …

Mechanism of Action

openFDA Drug Labeling

12.1 Mechanism of Action Ruxolitinib, a kinase inhibitor, inhibits Janus Associated Kinases (JAKs), JAK1 and JAK2, which mediate the signaling of a number of cytokines and growth factors that are important for hematopoiesis and immune function. JAK signaling involves recruitment of STATs (signal transducers and activators of transcription) to cytokine receptors, activation, and subsequent localization of STATs to the nucleus leading to modulation of gene expression. MF and PV are myeloproliferative neoplasms (MPNs) known to be associated with dysregulated JAK1 and JAK2 signaling. In a mouse model of JAK2V617F-positive MPN, oral administration of ruxolitinib prevented splenomegaly, preferentially decreased JAK2V617F mutant cells in the spleen and decreased circulating inflammatory cytokines (eg, TNF-α, IL-6). JAK-STAT signaling pathways play a role in regulating the development, proliferation, and activation of several immune cell types important for GVHD pathogenesis. In a mouse model of aGVHD, oral administration of ruxolitinib was associated with decreased expression of inflammatory cytokines in colon homogenates and reduced immune-cell infiltration in the colon.

Description

openFDA Drug Labeling

11 DESCRIPTION Ruxolitinib phosphate is a kinase inhibitor with the chemical name ( R )-3-(4-(7 H -pyrrolo[2,3- d ]pyrimidin-4-yl)-1 H -pyrazol-1-yl)-3-cyclopentylpropanenitrile phosphate and a molecular weight of 404.36. Ruxolitinib phosphate has the following structural formula: Ruxolitinib phosphate is a white to off-white to light pink powder and is soluble in aqueous buffers across a pH range of 1 to 8. JAKAFI (ruxolitinib) tablets are for oral administration. Each tablet contains 5 mg, 10 mg, 15 mg, 20 mg, or 25 mg of ruxolitinib free base, equivalent to 6.6 mg, 13.2 mg, 19.8 mg, 26.4 mg, or 33 mg of ruxolitinib phosphate, respectively, and the following inactive ingredients: colloidal silicon dioxide, hydroxypropyl cellulose, lactose monohydrate, magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, povidone and sodium starch glycolate. JAKAFI XR (ruxolitinib) extended-release tablets are for oral administration. Each tablet contains 11 mg, 22 mg, 33 mg, 44 mg, or 55 mg of ruxolitinib free base equivalent to 14.5 mg, 29 mg, 43.6 mg, 58.1 mg, or 72.6 mg of ruxolitinib phosphate, respectively, and the following inactive ingredients: colloidal silicon dioxide, hypromellose, lactose monohydrate, magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, and sodium stearyl fumarate. In addition, the film coating contains the following inactive ingredients: colorants (black iron oxide, red iron oxide, and yellow iron oxide), copovidone, hypromellose, polydextrose, polyethylene glycol, titanium dioxide, and triglycerides. Ruxolitinib phosphate structure

10 OVERDOSAGE There is no known antidote for overdoses with JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR. Single doses up to 200 mg have been given with acceptable acute tolerability. Higher than recommended repeat doses are associated with increased myelosuppression including leukopenia, anemia, and thrombocytopenia. Appropriate supportive treatment should be given. Hemodialysis is not expected to enhance the elimination of JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR.

How Supplied / Storage and Handling

openFDA Drug Labeling

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING JAKAFI (ruxolitinib) tablets are available as follows: JAKAFI Trade Presentations NDC Number Strength Description Tablets per Bottle 50881-005-60 5 mg Round tablet with “INCY” on one side and “5” on the other 60 50881-010-60 10 mg Round tablet with “INCY” on one side and “10” on the other 60 50881-015-60 15 mg Oval tablet with “INCY” on one side and “15” on the other 60 50881-020-60 20 mg Capsule-shaped tablet with “INCY” on one side and “20” on the other 60 50881-025-60 25 mg Oval tablet with “INCY” on one side and “25” on the other 60 JAKAFI XR (ruxolitinib) extended-release tablets are available as follows: JAKAFI XR Trade Presentations NDC Number Strength Description Tablets per Bottle 50881-011-08 11 mg Round light pink tablet with “I” on one side and “11” on the other 30 50881-022-08 22 mg Round light yellow tablet with “I” on one side and “22” on the other 30 50881-033-08 33 mg Round pink tablet with “I” on one side and “33” on the other 30 50881-044-08 44 mg Round grey tablet with “I” on one side and “44” on the other 30 50881-055-08 55 mg Round yellow tablet with “I” on one side and “55” on the other 30 Store JAKAFI/JAKAFI XR at 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F); excursions permitted between 15°C and 30°C (59°F and 86°F) [see USP Controlled Room Temperature]. Dispense in a tight container. Protect from light.

Adverse event reports

Source: openFDA FAERS
71,241
FAERS reports mentioning this drug
as of 2026-09-25T03:42:24+00:00
A report count is not a risk measure. FAERS accepts voluntary and mandatory reports without establishing causation, and reporting is influenced by how widely a drug is used, how long it has been marketed, and media attention. FDA states that reports “do not prove that the drug caused the event”. Compare rates, not totals.

Attributed to this product's most-reported active ingredient: RUXOLITINIB. Combination products with more than six active ingredients are not attributed, because a report count summed across a long ingredient list measures the list, not the medicine.

Packaging and NDCs

Source: NDC Directory
Every National Drug Code package associated with this medication. The NDC is the identifier used for dispensing, billing and pharmacovigilance in the United States.
Package NDC Product NDC Labeler Description Marketing start
50881-005-60 50881-005 Incyte Corporation 60 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE, PLASTIC (50881-005-60) November 16, 2011
50881-010-01 50881-010 Incyte Corporation 28 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE, PLASTIC (50881-010-01) November 16, 2011
50881-010-60 50881-010 Incyte Corporation 60 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE, PLASTIC (50881-010-60) November 16, 2011
50881-015-60 50881-015 Incyte Corporation 60 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE, PLASTIC (50881-015-60) November 16, 2011
50881-020-60 50881-020 Incyte Corporation 60 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE, PLASTIC (50881-020-60) November 16, 2011
50881-025-60 50881-025 Incyte Corporation 60 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE, PLASTIC (50881-025-60) November 16, 2011
50881-005 50881-005 Incyte Corporation — November 16, 2011
50881-010 50881-010 Incyte Corporation — November 16, 2011
50881-015 50881-015 Incyte Corporation — November 16, 2011
50881-020 50881-020 Incyte Corporation — November 16, 2011
50881-025 50881-025 Incyte Corporation — November 16, 2011

Sources for this page

Every dataset that contributed a fact to this page.
Dataset Agency Used for
NDC Directory FDA Identity, ingredients, strengths, forms, routes, labelers, packages
Drugs@FDA FDA Application, sponsor, submissions, review documents, marketing status
Orange Book FDA Therapeutic equivalence codes, reference drug flags, patents, exclusivity
Drug Labeling FDA / NLM Prescribing information reproduced above
FAERS FDA Adverse event report counts

Generated September 25, 2026 · 12 sections on this page.